If you commit a traffic offense in South Carolina, you may receive points on your driving record. An accumulation of points results in driver’s license suspension.
Review the rules about driver’s license points in South Carolina before attending court for a traffic ticket.
You can receive six points on your state driving record if convicted of a hit and run that causes property damage, speeding more than 25 miles per hour over the limit, passing a stopped school bus or reckless driving. Four-point offenses include unlawful passing or turning, driving on the wrong side of the road, failing to yield, disobeying a law enforcement officer, speeding more than 11 mph over the limit, or following another car too closely. Examples of two-point offenses include failing to signal, speeding less than 10 mph over the limit and operating a vehicle in an unsafe condition.
Driver’s license suspension
You may lose your driving privileges for three months if you receive 12 to 15 points. Higher point totals carry longer suspensions up to six months for 20 or more points. The state removes half the points from a conviction after one year and the other half after two years. You can also decrease points by taking an approved defensive driving course.
Drivers who have a provisional license, restricted license or learner’s permit receive a six-month suspension after receiving six points. If you receive a notice of suspension, you may request an appeal in writing within 10 days. You can also request a hardship license, which allows limited travel to work and school.